September 22, 2010

  • Fugly…?

    I love magazine ads, and I hate them. So many beautiful women, clothes, great models. I admire and critique poses and looks, study the fashion. Oh I love clothes and shoes, I am a closet fashionista! I hate that there is no way these clothes would look good on my fat ass. =( I of course have issues with the perception of women these pictures give to all. The image of perfection that girls and women have to compare themselves to, and to compete with. I hate the photoshopping that makes these women look perfect. An image that is unobtainable. Still I sit and look, currently the Victoria’s Secret catalog, and I think, I would love to look like that. I am working on loosing weight, these pictures give me inspiration and make me feel sad(at the disgust I feel for myself) at the same time. Still, every pound that I shead, I celebrate lol, the more I loose the better I feel about myself. I hope that one day, I will look as close to these pics as my body will healthy allow! Here are just a few pictures that stood out to me in the catalog.

    She is so skinny! Little girls try to make themselves look like that! =( I wonder how much was photoshopped off of her already tiny figure.

    I love this picture. Yes, I would love to look that skinny! lol That would be close to my style. I dress now in what I am comfortable in, sadly, I pay no attention to my own current style. =(

    This babydoll is sexy! I love it, and the picture! She is really beautiful, sexy, and her figure perfect! But look at her arm. It is too straight on the bottom of her bicep…photoshop? Still, I would love to look even half that good.

    This is just plain ol’ fugly me, fresh out of the shower, hair tossed up, sitting in my room and wrapped in a blanket. No model here, just a girl who wants to feel good about herself. A girl who works daily to like herself.

    I am, not quite sure what the point of this post really was… My love for style, my sadness at what has become of the image of women, how I, like many other compare myself to these beautiful women? I do not know, maybe there is not point. Me and my pointless posts. But I wonder, do you love/like yourself? Do you compare yourself to magazine models?

    Source

    Source

    Source

Comments (19)

  • You’re right about her arms. There is something awkward about them. No one can look like a photoshopped picture. 
    I don’t compare myself to others in magazines or in life.  I’m me and I’m unique just like everyone else.  People can accept me for what/who I am or not.  I like myself, but that doesn’t mean I don’t try to improve in different areas of my life.  Right now I’d like to lose some weight because I don’t want to have to buy bigger clothes.  Definitely a money issue there.
    As for fashion…rofl…I have no fashion sense.  A lot of days my clothes don’t even match.  I wear what makes me happy though.
    Of course, since I’m a guy, all of this is probably useless information for you.

  • @C_L_O_G - Just because you are a guy does not mean your opinions don’t make me think just as much as a woman’s! Oh and I bet there are plenty of guys out there who secretly compare themselves to those male models. I try my best not to, but I compare myself to others in many ways. Guess it is partially because I grew up being compared to others by my father…?

    Losing weight has been nice not only because I feel better in some ways, but I never got rid of my “thinner” work clothes so now I can fit back into my nice suits and such again! A money saver there! lol =D

  • @walking_a_long_lonely_road - I’m sure there are guys who compare themselves to the male models.  I know plenty of men who are still working on six pack abs (I think that is what it is called). 
    Way to go on the weight loss.  Sounds like you are making good progress and have good motives. 
    The thinspo women break my heart.  I’ve had women friends and students who were obsessive about weight loss. 

  • @C_L_O_G - Thank you, I am trying to do it right this time, I was one of those girls, of course going from a 100 calorie diet to a regular one really…messed me up. I feel for those girls too…

  • though those women up there may look nice in their clothes, they really have no shape. women are to have curves and a shape.  when will fashion realize that models are not real women?

  • I think the same way, except about my face.

  • i compare myself to people i see everyday i really dont try and let it get to me but it does but im becoming to accept my  self for who i am and if i had some money iwould buy clothes that i actually like and are more fashinable. I think you look beautiful.

  • I don’t compare myself to models. Sure, I’m not skinny, but I’m working on changing that. I’m just me and I love being me.

  • You are not fugly. That’s a horrible word, so stop telling yourself that. I’m overweight too, and it’s okay. You’re working on it, and it isn’t an instantaneous thing. Don’t be so hard on yourself, trying DOES count for something. Be nice to yourself, do your best to stay positive. I know it’s hard, I’m in a similar boat, but you can do it. 

    You’re beautiful. 

  • @buddy71 - Models are real women, they changes themselves to look the part and, photo editing does the rest. I think the last model has a pretty curves!

  • @boyhnc - Thank you, I am trying to accept myself for who I am, it is a process though. 

  • @Shining_Garnet - I had a feeling you would say something like that. =D I love your confidence. <3

  • @bellasunday - You are sweet, thank you. =D

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - I find it hard to see, but thank you very much! =D

  • @walking_a_long_lonely_road - yes i know they are real women. but i feel they are products of the fashion world and that is why i dont feel they represent the “real woman”, the woman that is really out there in life. i watch “project runway” and they models just do not represent real life or maybe i should say the average woman.  and yes i know magazines airbrush and make them even more unrealistic. i just dont feel women should look at models as role models on how to look. there are way lots of beautiful women (you included) that look nothing (in body shape and form) like fashion models.  i feel that is why there are way too many women (and some men) with ed because of the unrealistic exposure that the fashion and the media put on women.

  • @walking_a_long_lonely_road - Oh it is a very long process too but in the end its worth it, you can do it i believei n you. just one day at a time

  • You’re lovely and would be even more beautiful with a smile! I love fashion mags and catalogs too, and I used to compare myself to the models in them. But fashion spreads are not a realistic representation of beauty; they are an abstracted ideal. They are art, exquisite art, but not a realistic representation of life any more than aKandinsky beauty. Fashion should be about what makes you happy and represents you, not about looking like a picture. If you like the clothes, wear ‘em!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Comments

Categories